Skip to main content
Ontario Tech acknowledges the lands and people of the Mississaugas of Scugog Island First Nation.

We are thankful to be welcome on these lands in friendship. The lands we are situated on are covered by the Williams Treaties and are the traditional territory of the Mississaugas, a branch of the greater Anishinaabeg Nation, including Algonquin, Ojibway, Odawa and Pottawatomi. These lands remain home to many Indigenous nations and peoples.

We acknowledge this land out of respect for the Indigenous nations who have cared for Turtle Island, also called North America, from before the arrival of settler peoples until this day. Most importantly, we acknowledge that the history of these lands has been tainted by poor treatment and a lack of friendship with the First Nations who call them home.

This history is something we are all affected by because we are all treaty people in Canada. We all have a shared history to reflect on, and each of us is affected by this history in different ways. Our past defines our present, but if we move forward as friends and allies, then it does not have to define our future.

Learn more about Indigenous Education and Cultural Services


In fulfilling its commitment to research excellence and offering undergraduate and graduate teaching responsive to the needs of students and employers, Faculty of Energy Systems and Nuclear Science has assembled a team of exceptionally qualified faculty. The majority of faculty members have PhDs in engineering or the physical sciences, and are engaged in research of international standing relevant to the programs being taught by the faculty.

A fundamental objective is to ensure the value of our programs, graduates and research activities to industry. With this in mind, a number of our faculty have been recruited from senior positions in the nuclear industry and bring with them the contacts, knowledge and insights required to lead the long-term development of the faculty and nuclear technology education in Canada.

Kirk Atkinson, PhD

Associate Professor

George Bereznai, PhD

Professor and Director

John Froats

Associate Professor and Nuclear Engineer in Residence

Filippo Genco, PhD

Associate Teaching Professor

Glenn Harvel, PhD

Associate Professor

Daniel Hoornweg, PhD, PEng.

Associate Dean, Associate Professor, Richard Marceau Chair

Brian Ikeda, PhD

Associate Professor

Matthew Kaye, PhD

Associate Professor

Lixuan Lu, PhD


Rachid Machrafi, PhD

Associate Professor

Jennifer McKellar, PhD

Associate Professor

Eleodor Nichita, PhD

Associate Professor

Sharman Perera, MASc, PEng

Associate Teaching Professor and Laboratory Manager

Markus Piro, PhD

Assistant Professor and Canada Research Chair (Tier II) in Nuclear Fuels and Materials

Akira Tokuhiro, PhD

Dean and Professor

Anthony Waker, PhD


Edward Waller, PhD